Grown-up Christmas list

An oldie but goodie, with very meaningful lyrics from Amy Grant…

Grown-up christmas list
Do you remember me?
I sat upon your knee;
I wrote to you
With childhood fantasies.

Well, I’m all grown-up now,
And still need help somehow.
I’m not a child,
But my heart still can dream.

So here’s my lifelong wish,
My grown-up christmas list.
Not for myself,
But for a world in need.

No more lives torn apart,
That wars would never start,
And time would heal all hearts.
And everyone would have a friend,
And right would always win,
And love would never end.
This is my grown-up christmas list.

As children we believed
The grandest sight to see
Was something lovely
Wrapped beneath our tree.

Well heaven surely knows
That packages and bows
Can never heal
A hurting human soul.

No more lives torn apart,
That wars would never start,
And time would heal all hearts.
And everyone would have a friend,
And right would always win,
And love would never end.
This is my grown-up christmas list.

What is this illusion called the innocence of youth?
Maybe only in our blind belief can we ever find the truth.

No more lives torn apart,

That wars would never start,
And time would heal all hearts.
And everyone would have a friend,
And right would always win,
And love would never end, oh.
This is my grown-up christmas list.

This is my grown-up christmas list.

I don’t know about you, but as a little girl, I did write to Santa Claus… despite being Asian, living right smack in the Equator, and faraway from Finland where Father Christmas is supposed to live with his bunch of magical elves.

Whenever my folks brought me and my sisters out, I’d look upon the mall Santas with disdain because they were so obviously counterfeiter Father Christmases… with their ill-fitting white beards and wigs, which often betray the tuft of black hair under their red caps. Plus the fake fat belly always looked so badly stuffed and unnatural.

So I never ever did the sitting on their knee thing, but I always dutifully wrote to Santa (the French affectionately call him Papa Noel). My mother was probably amused when I’d look up at her great height and politely request for a postage stamp to mail out my precious letter to Santa. She’d click her tongue but still give me a stamp, Mom was sweetly indulging that way.

St Nick never replied or ever answered any my letters of course… and the older kids at school always said he wasn’t real, but a part of me wanted to believe in magic. Or at least hold on to that possibility until I couldn’t anymore 😉 I always wanted to be an elf because I thought they had the coolest ears.

But still, as commercialized Christmas has become and will continue to be, I always remind myself it’s that year-end period to reflect and be grateful for things. I am indeed very, very thankful for everything I’ve been blessed with and I wish the absolute best for everyone who have always been there for me.

I’m a very flawed work-in-progress, deeply imperfect and really not as good a human being I wish I could be… So this girl is extremely grateful for the chances, opportunities and experiences that have enriched my life & the understanding people who haven’t given up on me.

Life has always been an adventure of sorts. The unexpected can happen & the craziest ideas can become reality. This is something I’ve come to realize. I just hope I have the courage to embrace it all.

Anyways.

It’s just a few days shy of Christmas… Happy Holidays y’all! Have you made your new year resolutions or bucket list? If you haven’t, start now!!!

Ta for now, more later…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

