The story of my friend Larry

I first met Larry Lum via an online magic forum, when we were all still students in Ngee Ann Polytechnic. I was there studying Film & Media Studies and Larry was an engineering student on scholarship. He came from an ITE background and impressively won 2 scholarships (one being the prestigious Lee Kuan Yew scholarship) for himself.

The truth was, I was really impressed with his reliable character and pleasant personality too. I mean, Larry is an Ah Beng. He is. It is his nature, as mine is that of your typical (?) MGS girl. But he’s a really sweet guy and a wonderful joker who’d never run out of lame jokes to crack you up.

Unfortunately, because of his style of communication, many judgmental people tend to tune out before giving the man a chance. Too bad for them really, because Larry’s a really swell friend. And he’s one of the rare few that I’d take to Survivor Island with *wry grin*

I remember my very first stage illusion gig – it happened shortly after I received my scholarship from The Right Angel, after being top student in my standard for having 8 high distinctions. But despite my dizzy happiness, I was freaking out because of newbie nerves.

But Larry was calm about the whole thing and had only positive things to say about us scoring the corporate gig. And because he was in NP’s Magnum Force cheerleading team, he volunteered to assist and help in whatever  he could.

My thoughtful friend even picked me up at 6am in the morning on his Honda motorcycle so we’d reach the venue on time for the prep and set-up, having correctly guessed that I’d have difficulty sleeping the night before.

For purely platonic friends, he’s truly one of the sweetest men ever.

Years rolled by and we kept in touch. I saw him change girlfriends and he saw my break-up with Aloysius because we saw two complete different futures.

Later, it was destined that I joined J C Sum, and upon graduating from NTU, Larry joined the company too 🙂 Larry met Joys mid-way of Ultimate Magic (our 13-month stint at The Arena in Clarke Quay) and I felt so happy for him because they were just so perfect together. The essential same outlook of life, love, work and everything important.

Also, I watched my friend gradually grow as a performer – to become the confident man who fiercely owns the stage today. Larry & I, well, Magic Babe, serve very different target audiences, as we have very different strengths and talents.

Having said all that, I’d like to show you Larry’s brand new video that highlights his latest material and showcases some of his skills… I personally find it excitingly different from the usual magic staples in this part of the world.

Presenting, my friend, Larry the Daredevil Magician!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

