Happy Mothers Day :)

It’s Mother’s Day today and I’ll be taking my family out for a celebration over dinner to honor that special woman in my life 🙂 I love my mother, she’s a wonderful person who always puts others before herself. The smart cookie has been a fantastic role model to me and my younger sisters because Mom always, always lives by example.

Contrary to what people may assume, I come from a very humble family and Mom’s really worked very hard. She used to be a nurse, and I think she used to hope that one of her 3 girls would be a medical professional one day… but I don’t think that’s gonna happen. LOL. However, health is still tremendously important. So that’s why I feel there’s no better day than today to talk about this women related issue…

Power Over Cervical Cancer is a movement by The Society for Colposcopy & Cervical Pathology of Singapore to reduce cervical cancer rates in the country. These folks work with various support groups, with many activities planned to educate and raise awareness of cervical cancer, as well as, prevention methods. They’ve recently appointed me as a POCC celebrity ambassador and it is an honor, because this is a cause I truly believe in.

To learn more about the disease, assess your risk and find out ways to fight it, visit their website here. Cervical cancer can happen to any woman, but you can do your part to prevent it from affecting you, your loved ones and female friends.

There are cervical cancer vaccination shots that you can get to help protect yourself, and in fact, that was what I personally did two years ago after a girl friend shared that she decided to get hers done. In this modern day and age, I absolutely believe in women empowerment – which also covers empowering yourselves with knowledge and also being given the powers of responsibility in protecting ourselves.

Cancer is very real – and it is so heartbreaking when you loose somebody. Like some of you know, for many years I’ve been working closely with young children stricken with cancer and it’s really painful watching them struggle through chemotherapy. At 14, I lost a very dear friend to cancer, and I was completely devastated. She was only 16. And that was when my eyes were forced opened – these things can happen to anyone.

Some of you may also recall that in 2003, Hong Kong pop diva Anita Mui tragically lost her battle against cervical cancer because it was detected too late. So now that cervical cancer vaccination is available, why wouldn’t you go for it? Only YOU have the power to protect yourself against these risks and put this disease at bay. FYI, cervical cancer is the 6th most common cancer among women here & the 3rd most common gynaecological cancer. Read here to equip yourself with accurate and updated medical facts about it.

So yes, I’d encourage all women to get their regular pap-smear checks and also get their vaccinations done. Talk to your doctor to find out more, and visit the POCC website for more information. You can also call their hotline at 1800-762-7622.

Share this with your sisters, friends, mothers, grandmothers, wife girlfriend, colleagues, neighbors… all women absolutely deserve to be educated about this so they can choose to protect themselves.

Spread the word, spread the love 😉

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy Mothers Day :)

  1. Pingback: ‘Magic Babe’ shoots for Coke Zero’s as Featured Personality « BACKSTAGE BUSINESS: The Art, Science & Business of Showbiz by J C Sum

Leave a Reply

