Random Beauty: Pretty everyday things we take for granted

In a few moments, I will be stepping into my SQ flight, destination: Japan.Am I excited? You bet. I can almost feel butterflies in my tummy, and I don’t even get that backstage before a show!

Ever since I was a little girl, I’d wanted to travel to the land of the rising sun… there was always something magical about it, to me. Growing up, my Dad traveled a lot on business and he’d always bring me back a little something.

I remember requesting him once for a “kimono” (traditional Japanese women’s garment) before he left for Tokyo, but mistakenly said “komodo” (icky giant dragon lizard)… which left the adults chortling in amusement at the bewildered knee-high me.

This precious 11 – 21 Feb break is the only time for me to get some much-needed R&R, before the craziness ensues once I come back. 2010 is an exciting year for us indeed with just SO much in stored *grin* More details to come later, promise!

I’ve worked really, really hard and personally saved up for this trip which I’d planned a while ago, so ignore any lame rumors from sore losers about Magic Babe having a rich sugar daddy. This girl is one independent tough cookie, thank you very much.

I come from a typical Singaporean family. I put myself through school. My scholarship paid for film school tuition. I worked hard to save up for University. When I first joined Concept:Magic, I only had $30 left in my bank account. Everything that I have today, come from my own two hands.

Most people think I’m very blessed. Yes, I am. With what I have from my own hard work and achievements, because I was never born with a silver spoon in my mouth. It hasn’t been an easy ride, but as you may already know… life is the best teacher.

Something important that I’ve also learnt along the way is that, no one can takes these things away from you – some insecure people can bitch about you and try their best to slime you with untruthful rumors because they’re tragically jealous about your success, but so what? Your milestones, track record, achievements and hard work speak for themselves. Besides, professional karma has always proven to work. Stay positive, with a clean conscience. Forgive people and move on. Focus on what you’ve got 🙂

Anyways before I fly, I thought I’d share some pictures that I personally took around Singapore… they spoke to me, and I hope you enjoy them. They are simple pieces of “Random Beauty”: Pretty everyday things we take for granted.

For more, feel free to see my album on Facebook 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Random Beauty: Pretty everyday things we take for granted

  1. Dear Ning,

    Thanks very much for your interesting blog. It’s always nice to see how people on the other side of the globe live, how they share the same joys and sorrows, what they do in their free time, etc.

    I actually have a question about your blog. Would you mind helping us with a linguistic research project? We’re compiling data from various Singaporean weblogs. All it requires is checking a few boxes. If you want to take part and/or have more questions, drop me a note ( hack2301@uni-trier.de RE: Question ) so that I can then send you the ‘official’ project eMail. We’d really appreciate your help.

    Thanks very much in advance!
    Best regards,
    – Fran

    (Link to our department’s website: http://www.uni-trier.de/index.php?id=1022 )

Leave a Reply

