Something a dear friend shared with me a long time ago

It’s been quite a busy day, which wrapped up with me performing my one gal show Deadly Sexy Magic at a mall to celebrate this festive season. This special public appearance in the shopping mall in town had a very different crowd from last night’s event for an international group of doctors, which took place at the beautiful Legends @ Fort Canning.

So I was just chilling at home in my bachelor girl pad after work, clearing up some email, when I rediscovered this memorable bit lying in my inbox. If you read it with an reflective and open mind, I’m sure you’d benefit.

Now what’s written about the human condition may seem glaringly obvious to some of you (hello jaded people!), but it truly spoke to me, and I’m sharing this because I do think it quite meaningful.

This insightful email forward was sent by a dear friend but it didn’t have the writer’s name, so if you do know who this is written by, please inform me so I can credit them accordingly 🙂 Enjoy…

MAYBE

Maybe…We are supposed to meet the wrong people before meeting the Right one, so that when we finally meet the right person, we will know how to be grateful for that gift.

Maybe…it is true that we don’t know what we have got until we lose it, but it is also true that we don’t know what we have been missing until it arrives.

Maybe…the happiest of people don’t necessarily have the best of Everything; they just make the most of everything that comes along their Way.

Maybe…the best kind of love is the kind you where you can sit on a sofa Together never say a word, and then walk away feeling like it was the best Conversation you’ve ever had.

Maybe…you shouldn’t go for looks; they can deceive. Don’t go for wealth; even that fades away. Go for someone who makes you smile, because it takes only a smile to make a dark day seem bright.

Maybe…you should hope for enough happiness to make you sweet, enough trials to make you strong, enough sorrow to keep you human, and enough hope to make you happy.

Maybe… Love is not about finding the perfect person; it’s about learning to see an imperfect person perfectly. When you do what you can, love will do what you can’t.

and

Maybe… you should dream what you want to dream; go where you want to go, be what you want to be, because you have only one life and one chance to do all the things you dream of, and want to do.

Everybody gets the same – one lifetime. Nothing more, nothing less. So, seize the day and remember that the brightest future will always be based on a forgotten past, you can’t go on well in life until you let go of your past failures and heartaches.

It reminds me of one of my current favorite quotes by Henry James… “It’s time to start living the life you’ve imagined” 🙂 Carpe diem!

PS: Just a heads-up since Matt informed me today… the pro bono charity gig at Zirca (Stop the Ouch Please: Violence against Women) that I was supposed to be performing for next week has been canceled due to some administrative problems with the student organizers and their school. While I’m truly sorry to hear about it, I hope people will still support the cause anyway – check out good groups like UNIFEM & AWARE for more information. Cheers!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Something a dear friend shared with me a long time ago

  1. Hi Magic Babe. This is really good ! Thanks for sharing.

  2. nat

    a beautiful post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

