Join me and help stop violence against women

Work’s picking up again, with several stage gigs happening this week but I thought I’d just share this with everyone right now, since it’s something out of the ordinary 🙂

Check this out…

I’ll be performing my one gal show, Deadly Sexy Magic, next Thursday night at ZIRCA to help raise funds and improve awareness for violence against women.

Do support the cause by purchasing tickets for this PAVE charity fundraiser, organised by students of Ngee Ann Polytechnic. Spread the word about it!

Click here for full details on this interesting charity event, held at one of the hippest clubs in Clarke Quay. But in a nutshell, here’s the key details:

Date: 26 Nov 2009, Thurs
Venue: Zirca
Time: 7pm – late
Last admission: 930pm
Prizes to be won: Body Shop products, eng wah voucher, espirit vouchers, heeren privilege card.
Age Limit: 18+

Door sale: $23
Pre-sale: $20 (W/ one Drink)
$18 (NP students w/ one drink)
$15 ( W/O drink)

Folks who know me would understand why this draws me. It’s a true cause which I stand for, that’s why UNIFEM, AWARE and folks from the Somaly Mam Foundation have my utmost respect for their work.

So I’m glad that the organisers contacted me to be a part of STOP THE OUCH PLEASE as they identified Magic Babe as one strong modern day independent femme!

A host of other people and organizations have also pledged their collaboration, so do pop by to Zirca next Thursday evening for the gig… I’m sure it’d be a blast. See you then! 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Join me and help stop violence against women

  1. magicunlimited

    Hi Ning,

    That’s a very good campaign there and I hope it’s successful but I can’t help think of the irony of what magic itself does:

    Sawing women in half, impaling them, slicing their heads off… even subjugating them to “fetch and carry” roles.

    Thoughts?

    • ning

      Hi Tim! Yes, as we all know, magic has always been a male dominated industry… that’s why we need more empowered females like myself and your wife Sue-Anne in the business to set an example. I wouldn’t be doing any of the classic cutting a girl in half bits for this show, but the examples you provided that performers do, well, the assistant does get fixed up in the end – a triumph of sorts and a message of hope to come in direct relation to this issue, but I like how you think Tim. As usual, very interesting 🙂

      x
      Ning

Leave a Reply

