My Julie & Julia moment, sorta…

Okay, this is probably as close as it gets to my Julie & Julia moment…

After my Saturday morning dental check up at Paragon, I dropped by a chocolate discovery workshop which the BFF was hosting in town. Chocolatier Laurent Bernard, French owner of the Laurent Bernard Cafe & Chocolate Bars, shared marvelously sexy secrets of cho-co-lat with a whole bunch of us 😉

Attendees got to get a sweet hands-on experience, creating scrumptious truffles and creamy ganache, under the watchful eye of the charming French man.

Now, I’ve tried his chocolate souffles before, at his Riverwalk outlet, and it’s simply delish… so you can be sure that yours truly was one very happy cat after the workshop, as everyone got to take home some yummy handmade chocolates!

I really love French accents… no matter what is spoken, it comes out ever so nicely. It’s a hard language to master too… Having said that, I totally understood what Lambert Wilson’s charismatic character, the Merovingian, in The Matrix Reloaded meant when he so very sensuously drawled:

“I love French wine, like I love the French language. I have sampled every language, French is my favorite. Fantastic language. Especially to curse with. Nom de dieu de putain de bordel de merde de saloperie de connard d’enculé de ta mère. It’s like wiping your arse with silk. I love it. ”

…But it also meant that I kinda zoned out after awhile because his French accent was so thick, and it didn’t quite help either that this chocolate lover was more in it for the sweet treats than the real how-to of baking.

The BFF & I were also giggling like silly school girls when we listened to Laurent ramble passionately about things being FUCK-tash-tik (fantastic) and TUM-poo-chu (temperature)… teehee!

Sorry. This girlie’s still only human 😛 Lucky him, Laurent’s wife Evita helps out with the business too, as his business manager/ accountant. I wonder if they’d set up another store besides the 2 existing branches here in Singapore.

Anyways! I now have one of Laurent’s chocolate recipes but seriously doubt I’d ever venture towards it. My kitchen’s kept spotless because it’s hardly been used much. Sad but true, the gas deliveryman’s seriously amused with how long a single tank can actually last in my bachelorette apartment!

But then again, I d have brief moments where I do feel inspired to cook… well, ok… make pancakes. But everything’s still sitting there on my kitchen table, untouched and probably will for the next few months. Fruit, milk and cereal & healthy brunch bars are just so convenient!

So yeahhhh, I’d say Saturday morning would’ve been the closest Julie & Julia moment ever. And the sad fact is, I was the one behind the camera, most of the time. Hurhurhurhurhur. I so wanna catch the movie! Anyone?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “My Julie & Julia moment, sorta…

  1. laurent

    i didn’t knew i sound like this! , no wonder why everybodie keept silent ! i belive some still wonder what is a fuk ta stick…
    you have a great sens of humour, it was nice to meat u. hope to see you on stage soon.

    Laurent

    • ning

      😛 Omg, you found my blog! We love your accent… it’s CUTE! Keep in touch Laurent, Pam & I will be swinging by your shop soon! *grin*

  2. Pam

    OMG laurent found your blog! *LOL* but yah, your french accent is sexy, laurent, so don’t talking like this! ning & i will surely drop by your chocolate bar for some chocolate souffle soon!!! :P~

Leave a Reply

