Life isn’t measured in minutes, but in moments

Over the weekend I had performances at Pan Pacific hotel & Suntec Convention Hall, which were great… a couple of people took photos with us after our show, and I enjoyed chatting with them. And since they asked, J C shared with them as well, that early bird tickets for our St James gig come Jan 2010 are also available. Check out his blog Backstage Business for full details.

It’ been busy again, and the team’s gearing up for the peak season that always happens at year end where most people throw events and company functions. I’m also thrilled with some VERY exciting projects that have come our way – more on those in just a bit 😉

Work aside, I finally made time to watch The Curious Case of Benjamin Button on DVD, having missed it earlier this year because of my hectic work schedule. Despite them never explaining the cause of our movie protagonist’s curious case of aging backwards, the film’s truly a wonderful work of pure genius and completely worthy of all its Oscar wins!

Based on F Scott Fitzgerald’s short story, the feature length film had its touching moments, which did make me cry… especially towards the end. Gosh, it’s so totally embarrassing, the amount of tissue paper I found crumpled near me when I’m done!

Now, I’d read the original short story many years before and to be brutally honest… never found it extremely intriguing or even one of Fitzgerald’s best works. However, these veteran filmmakers were skillful artisans in weaving the tale. It was a love story well told. Believable visual effects were key, and the casting was excellent too – Brad Pitt, Cate Blanchett, Tilda Swinton – these talented thespians were amazing!

Though she had a small role in the movie, I really liked Swinton’s complex character, Elizabeth Abbott. There’s something about how she portrays loneliness and despair… so much restless angst and untapped energy wrapped under an aloof mask she wears, only to be unraveled when she’s alone with our protagonist. Life as it is becomes simpler, happier, and real. With him.

I found some parts of the film very memorable, with a few lines creating an impact. For instance, Brad Pitt’s sensitive film character, Benjamin Button, writes the following in his diary…

For what it’s worth: it’s never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.

🙂 I thought it was most meaningful. In the film, there’s also a line when Cate Blanchett’s dancer character Daisy tells our darling protagonist: “Loving you is worth everything to me…”

*sigh* Yeahhhh, I know, I’m a huge sucker for  these things… 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Life isn’t measured in minutes, but in moments

  1. nat

    Thanks N2 for sharing. I enjoyed and loved the movie too. Practically melted my heart.

  2. Decbelle

    Yea! Those lines are great. I like them too! 🙂 Especially “Loving you is worth everything to me”.

Leave a Reply

