Up, up and awaaaaay…

I’ve been feeling a tad moody over the past few days, probably because of the current diet I’m putting myself through. No, I’m not starving or anything, but I’m just consciously denying myself the sinful pleasures in life like chocolate, desserts and the other sweet things that I love. All in the name of the greater good… To get in better shape, and be a bit healthier anyway – so no more bubble tea for me *pout*

So to cheer me up, the insistant BFF took me to watch Disney/ Pixar’s latest animation “UP!” in 3D and it fared waaaaaaay better than I’d personally anticipated 🙂 And you know how big a critic this film buff is!

I’ve always been a huge sucker for animation features and personally, knowing that Pete Docter was directing the movie, I had very high expectations for “UP!”.

The brilliant Pixar animation director is also a big fan of Hayao Miyazaki of Studio Ghibli in Japan. Pete also wrote the screenplay of “UP!”, which was truly marvelous… I’d say this is Disney/ Pixar’s best story yet! I watched the film in 3D (Golden Village provided everyone with the 3D glasses) and truly enjoyed the enhanced movie experience.

“UP!” reached out to both the young and old, and it helps younger people understand why perhaps the elderly have their grouchy moments… and it’s essentially a love story really; a deep and mature one about life, love, death, and then truly letting go and moving on.

It was very tender and last night, the two of us girls found ourselves sniffling because it was just so touching! The sweet popcorn started to taste salty and  I must have looked an emo goth wreck from the smudged black eyeliner and make-up because I’d rushed over from my on-going illusion gig (Ultimate Magic) at Clarke Quay!

Besides it’s tender focus on human relationships, the beautiful animation film also had a running message which reminded us about the important balance between mankind and nature – that humans should still respect wildlife and not be greedy.

It’s a very Hayao Miyazaki thing to do really, visualized in his 1997 animation feature film “Princess Mononoke” (もののけ姫, Mononoke-hime). It is my all-time favorite Studio Ghibli animation feature, which highlighted the tragic consequences that will happen if mankind rapes the environment for greed and benefit.

One thing I appreciated in “UP!” as well, is that Disney/ Pixar is very current with the times. There is no more unrealistic sugar coated cartoons that pretend that all family units are always intact because the truth of the matter is that single parent families are more often than not, a sad but more than normal occurrence these days – but that doesn’t mean that there’s anything wrong with the kids involved or it’s their fault. It’s simply a reality of life.

Trust me, the film is much more than just a cartoon adventure of a grumpy old man and his floating house, because it is essentially a journey of the stuff within. They didn’t make animation like this when I was a little girl… Pixar’s “UP!” is a whole lot more deeper and far more meaningful than Disney’s “The Little Mermaid”, “Aladdin” and “Beauty and the Beast” put together!

And yes! In line with its usual tradition, Disney/ Pixar had a short animation clip just prior to the start of the crowd pleaser. Don’t miss the short, it’s so well done… universally – from the story telling, to the animation, characterization, how the filmmakers aptly manipulate your emotions… all creatively rolled up into one very tight succinct clip that would definitely make you go “Awwwwww…”

All that as usual, without any dialogue! Watching the short but very impressive animation that whetted our appetites before the main feature came on, it made me remember that in this world, it’s all our unique differences that make us truly loveable.

Anyways, on our way out as the BFF & I left the cinema after the rolling credits ended, I spotted a ‘coming soon’ poster of “Coco Avant Chanel” (Coco before Chanel) starring my favorite French actress, Audrey Tautou of Amelie fame!

That’s just awesome because the late Coco Chanel is one dame of a tough chick and talented fashionista, who I really look up to. She’s an inspiration really, when you realize how the strong-willed woman managed things in the face of adversity during those tough years and how she rose to the top in an industry dominated by men.

The shrewd trailblazer dared to be different, fearlessly broke glass ceilings, constantly pushed the envelope, didn’t care what people said or gossiped behind her back, and industriously forged her own empire which is still a glorious international brand today. I mean, for years now, I personally wear Chanel to work everyday because I really love the scent 🙂

Anne Fontaine directs this biopic on the legendary woman and IMHO, there is no better French actress to play Coco Chanel more convincingly than the talented Audrey Tautou. The resemblance is uncanny!

Can’t wait for the film to finally hit our shores *grin* Check out the official trailer!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Up, up and awaaaaay…

  1. Ade

    One of the few that i watched and actually found myself sniffling away too. And you know the ‘tough cookie’ i am. UP is really quite an awesome movie. 🙂

  2. Pam

    BFF, I love reading your film reviews! I learn so much from u each time we talk abt movies, directors, scriptwriters, even actors… I loved “UP” too!!! I wasn’t looking at u but I could hear u sniffling away beside me (I was too)… we are such softies. how like dat?

  3. Joyce L

    hey i was sniffling too with Dom!! Sigh.. i love Pixar (and of course Ghibli studios)! always will be a fan!!! On top of Chanel, should catch Meryl Streep’s latest – Julie & Julia (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjvJHsJD8ic).

Leave a Reply

