The Unguarded Moment

My precious weekend saw me spending time with friends… earlier, at Jasmine’s smashing rockstar themed 25th birthday party at Durty Nelly’s in town where we all caught up over drinks. Spanky’s birthday just passed too, so I got both girls their presents. Kris brought his girlfriend along as well, and it’s awesome to finally meet her *grin* Same goes for Nats & Luke. I’ve been quite concerned over N1’s well-being because of her long work hours and all that stress. It’s fab that her hubby’s such a swell guy who really takes care of her!

Pictures from the happy celebrations at the Irish pub to come once they add it on Facebook. I tweeted last night too, via mobile, while I was there – yeahhhh, I think I’m beginning to get the hang of Twitter. Almost almost.

Anyways. Before all that, I was with the ever-patient BFF who always keeps me sane and grounded. We headed to the Asian Civilisations Museum, which is currently showcasing award-winning photographer Steve McCurry‘s first solo photo exhibition here in Singapore, The Unguarded Moment.

You may remember some iconic works from this very talented photo journalist, like his piercing "Afghan Girl" which graced National Geography magazines worldwide – and a wonderful documentary was made many years after the picture was taken, of him trying to find her and he finally did… though she’s all grown up now!

Sharbat Gula, now married with children, had absolutely no idea what a celebrity she was, that her beautiful face had been seen by millions of people worldwide 🙂

The tough cookie’s such a fighter. She has the most piercing gaze I’ve ever seen on a girl. Beautiful, like a knife. And I do love blades.

There were many other inspiring photographs, but wistfully I felt there’s just way too few. It left me wanting much more, but it was good for the soul while it lasted. In his line of work, McCurry travels the world and visits developing countries a lot, and the clever name of his exhibition is clearly very apt.

One of BFF’s favorites from the lot is this particular one of a group of women gathered during a dust storm. I love the viibrant colors of their clothing, juxtaposed with the light and shadow of their surroundings, and the trees… they’re so beautiful and bare. Quite similiar to the trees I saw at winter time, when I was in England earlier this year.

The picture that spoke out the most to me at the on-going exhibition, has to be this one of a mother and child begging for alms during the rainy monsoon season in India. McCurry certainly captured the vital essence of the moment, for me.

Something caught in my heart when I frist saw this… and the adage "a picture paints a thousand words" applies.

It personally reminded me of my time in India – both New Delhi & Mumbai – where the rich are very rich & the poor are very poor. I was transported (not teleported) back in time to the memory of young homeless children who should be at school begging on the roads, pitifully tapping at the windows of your car, asking for food but mainly money.

Slumdog Millionaire, one of my favorite contemporary movies, comes to mind.

McCurry’s picture of these monks in safron robes at the iconic Angkor Wat brought back much fond memories of my Cambodia trip some months ago, when I took a much needed break as I needed something entirely different from sheltered, cosmopolitan Singapore.

There’s more gorgeous photos on the everyday life of everyday people – a brilliant play on McCurry’s genius in capturing land and sky, light and shadow, water and reflections, and more. Don’t miss this on-going exhibition, it’d inspire you 🙂

The Unguarded Moment ends this 19 July, so do pop by ACM’s Shaw Foundation Foyer. Admission is free!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Unguarded Moment

  1. Pam

    yah… that one of mum w kid akimbo begging during monsoon also spoke to me. mccurry’s a genius capturing that “unguarded” moment. we must go make our museum rounds, bff! they’re really quite awesome these days.. ;o)

  2. MysteryM

    The picture of the mom and the kid in the rain at the glass window is truly sad. :S Makes you think of all the stuff you have and all the things that you are taking for granted for.

Leave a Reply

