RAZOR TV’s smashing new 3-parter on J C Sum & ‘Magic Babe’ Ning

Check it out… RAZOR TV did a rockin’ awesome 3-part special on my escape stunt at Central last weekend. Inversion, as you know it, is but a teaser to the main event The Impossible Record which is the closing highlight of the  on-going Singapore River Festival!

Scroll down to watch the embedded videos in sequence below. Remember to crank up your speakers! 🙂

I think the reporter did a really fab job as she did a great drawback to The Impossible Journey, last year’s teleportation across the iconic Singapore River where J C & I swiftly magic-ed 3 muggles (non-magic folk) across in just 2.5 seconds flat.

Now, if you’d like some juicy behind-the-scenes pictures taken during our midnight set-up for my extreme escape which saw me blindfolded in a straightjacket and suspended without any safety line above a bed of steel spikes, check out J C’s blog Backstage Business for all that and more.

Here’s but one of the many pictures uploaded, which basically sees yours truly all set to be raised to maximum height. Many thanks to Weili for the awesome photos which you can see real soon at our J C Sum & ‘Magic Babe’ Ning Facebook fan page!

By the way, it’s about 2AM as I blog this… good Wednesday morning! *rueful grin*

The entire Concept:Magic team’s been hard at work with rehearsing for Saturday’s world record attempt since last evening and I’m actually taking a break right now and poking my NetBook as I rehydrate. Yes, we’re a very dedicated bunch who passionately love what we do 🙂

I can practically start singing that happy-ditty from Singin’ In the Rain (one of my all-time fave classics, which I’ve seen 16 times) which goes "Good morning, good morning!" because we all haven’t yet slept a wink! Heh. Looking around, it suddenly hit me that we’re looking more like zombies now, as the hours pass.

You know, that glazed look in the eyes and that telling dour, waned expression. Not unlike victims of the currently fashionable H1N1 virus.

The award-winning film student in me suddenly has an itch to make a zombie film… something warped, something different, something so veryveryvery wicked that no one’s ever seen before. It’d be fun to direct something again, it’s been a pretty long time since I did one.

I hope to be all nicely showered (oh what I’d give for a good massage right now!) and in bed by 2AM.

Read, H-O-P-E.

It’s just tough when we still haven’t yet nailed the highly ambitious benchmark of 15 illusions in 5 minutes 😦 Which translates to 20 seconds allocated per illusion, which also sees J C & myself running on stage as our crew rush to clear and set all the various illusions accordingly.

One careless mistake from a team member or prop malfunction/ equipment failure will cause us precious time.

And do note, it’s not all about speed – magic is all about storytelling and you need to communicate effectively to your audience as well. Mental concentration is another obvious given that is needed. Plus, my injured left hand still hasn’t fully recovered and is hurting with every stretch and exertion, so I’m not at my spiffiest.

Grrrrrr. I so hate that.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “RAZOR TV’s smashing new 3-parter on J C Sum & ‘Magic Babe’ Ning

  1. KennethL

    You should really take care of that hand of yours and take care of yourself. Health is always important. So don’t forget to take care of yourself.

  2. Khai85

    Zombie Film by Magic Babe Ning. When will it be out? I bet its going to be like Shaun of The Dead!! 😉

  3. lalala

    dont exert yourself too much though. take care 😀 oh. and work hard, 1 more illusion to go for your 15illusions in 5min! 😀

Leave a comment