Suzanne Vega @ Esplanade

It’s the start of the weekend and I just bought two new books after I finished reading everything I had. Some more than once. Instead of heavy material that requires some thinking, I decided to go for a fluffy “pick-me-up” instead so I got these books by female authors. As I write this, I’m already done with Koffman’s book and halfway through the other. I know, it’s crazy. I’m going through books like how Cookie Monster goes through cookies.

   

Anyways, I met up with my buddy Felix again, not for a movie as usual, but for Suzanne Vega’s one night only concert at the Esplanade. What can I say really… She was just amazing 🙂 Flying down from NYC, she came with her band and they were simply wonderful!

 

Since I was a kid, I’ve always loved her work. I find that her lyrics have so much meaning, “Luka” being one of my favorites. She tells so much, so simply. Just like this soulfully sweet song of hers about longing for something/ someone you can’t ever have.

"Caramel"

It won’t do
to dream of caramel,
to think of cinnamon
and long for you.

It won’t do
to stir a deep desire,
to fan a hidden fire
that can never burn true.

I know your name,
I know your skin,
I know the way
these things begin;

But I don’t know
how I would live with myself,
what I’d forgive of myself
if you don’t go.

So goodbye,
sweet appetite,
no single bite
could satisfy…

I know your name,
I know your skin,
I know the way
these things begin;

But I don’t know
what I would give of myself,
how I would live with myself
if you don’t go.

It won’t do
to dream of caramel,
to think of cinnamon
and long
for you.

My favorite redhead appeared in her trademark black outfit with her chic hat and her years of experience in handling crowds showed. Her genuine warmth and girlish quirkiness was also revealed to us and the entire experience was delightful. While it is true that her smoky voice is not as powerful as Mariah Carey or Celine Dion’s, Suzanne Vega certainly has this uncanny knack of making you feel completely at ease and relaxed. It fills you with love and that being such a comfortable thing, you just don’t want her to stop singing.

I was so disappointed when it was finally over (after all the encores and requests) but then, all good things have to come to an end. I left the concert hall feeling inspired and touched by her gift to the world. *happy sigh*

Many thanks to Felix for this wonderful treat and the fabulous company! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

