What an eventful weekend! Friday evening saw us performing a specially designed illusion show for Mitsubishi at Shangri-La, where Jack Neo was a special guest since he’s their spokesperson after all *grin* Applause for our closing illusion was especially loud and the crowd seemed to really like the interactive magic that J C & I did for them on stage 🙂 For some reason, there was a lot of applause and hoots for my straight jacket striptease act… hee hee… Maybe because there was a tad more guys in the audience.

Saturday night saw us at MOS (Ministry of Sound) at Clarke Quay, doing a specially put together illusion show for a very famous international bank group, which flew in some of their important people *grin* They were having a great time with the fantastic music playing and they were extremely responsive when it was our turn up on stage. The performance environment was quite challenging because we only had the dance floor to work with and it was a close, surrounded audience. But J C & I had their full attention still and they loved our magic! *grin*

The client actually came over to me after the show and shook my hand, saying that she really enjoyed the performance and she thought that yours truly – Magic Babe (Singapore’s only professional female magician) was excellent 🙂 Talk about sweet… she’s such an angel! The event producer was great as well, telling me the same. Well. Another job well done! *grin* Will headed off to meet his buddies for some drinks but I was just too tired to meet people or boogie the night away!

It’s peak season now so the Concept:Magic team’s gonna be super busy for the rest of the year. November & October is jam-packed and according to Shawn, our schedule’s almost filled for the remainder of the year… it’s really quite overwhelming so I don’t even wanna think about it! What I’m just looking forward to, is the break this coming CNY 2008 that Mr. Boss has promised us *wry grin* Also, our Mega Illusion DVD is in the works… yup, that’s right! It’s going to be released early next year, along with Magic in Motion (which is playing nationwide now on all SPHMBO screens) plus some juicy bonus items, which I will not tell you what just yet… More updates along the way! 😉

You know, I’m actually in a fantastic mood today. Sure, I had many errands to run (for instance, dropping off a MEGA huge and heavy Santa Clause X’mas-like sack of Magic Boutique orders at the central post office, etc.) but I managed to squeeze some time to do some shopping! I’ve been meaning to dress up my own workspace for awhile now because undecorated white walls can be boring and uninspiring, so I decided to make a couple of personalized changes.

While some might say it’s decadent splurging, I felt it was a justified time since with our media exposure, professional track record and excellent customer service, Magic Boutique just scored yet another corporate order from a major organization. Also, we’ve got BIG plans for next year! 2008 is going to be really, REALLY exciting *big grin*

Now, I’m sure you must be somewhat familiar with The Starry Night, a very popular oil on canvas painting by Vincent Van Gogh.

Just in case you aren’t aware, this fantastic artwork by my all-time favorite Dutch post-impressionist artist was actually created when he was checked into the crummy nut house at St. Remy Hospital for his eternal struggle with depression and insanity. We all know he’s got talent (and the crazy fact that he only had a ear because he cut one off and gave it to a girl he fancied) but can you believe Van Gogh only sold ONE painting during his entire lifetime?! 😦  SIGH!

The Starry Night is really what I honestly feel, to be Van Gogh’s greatest work ever and it has always inspired me greatly, with its spectacular nocturnal mix of colors, passionate flow of movement, intricate glowing swirls and that silent intensity of isolation & solitude which simply radiates.

I believe in love at first sight because it happened to me when I first saw Van Gogh’s Starry Night when I was a child *sheepish grin* So, I just HAD TO buy a reproduction of it… and I think it’s added much intimate character to my office!

 

Awww… Isn’t it simply a beaut? *swoon* That’s my latest baby… a very decently framed 3 feet long oil on canvas art reproduction of Van Gogh’s Starry Night. Yes, it’s not a mere printed poster – it’s a real painting on heavy canvas, a very decent reproduction of his masterpiece! 🙂

Seriously, when you look at it, doesn’t the beautiful lyrics of Don McLean’s famous song “Vincent” (also known to most as Starry, Starry Night) just come to mind? Popular singers like Tori Amos, Julie Andrews and Josh Groban have sung their take on it. It’s a bittersweet song and its lyrics are just so thought provoking as it refers to who else, but the late Vincent Van Gogh:

Starry, starry night.
Paint your palette blue and grey,
Look out on a summer’s day,
With eyes that know the darkness in my soul.
Shadows on the hills,
Sketch the trees and the daffodils,
Catch the breeze and the winter chills,
In colors on the snowy linen land.

Starry, starry night.
Flaming flowers that brightly blaze, Swirling clouds in violet haze,
Reflect in Vincent’s eyes of china blue.
Colors changing hue, morning field of amber grain,
Weathered faces lined in pain,
Are soothed beneath the artist’s loving hand.

For they could not love you,
But still your love was true.
And when no hope was left in sight
On that starry, starry night,
You took your life, as lovers often do.
But I could have told you, Vincent,
This world was never meant for one
As beautiful as you.

Starry, starry night.
Portraits hung in empty halls,
Frameless head on nameless walls,
With eyes that watch the world and can’t forget.
Like the strangers that you’ve met,
The ragged men in the ragged clothes,
The silver thorn of bloody rose,
Lie crushed and broken on the virgin snow.

Now I think I know what you tried to say to me,
How you suffered for your sanity,
How you tried to set them free.
They would not listen, they’re not listening still.
Perhaps they never will…

Please forgive the uhm… organized mess… on the table. When my work schedule gets crazy, I guess it pretty much just shows on my desk *wry grin* On the other side of the wall is a poster of my (very cute and dashing) American friend and fellow professional magician, Andy Amyx. He’s one of the top dove workers in the world today and has many talents – photography being one of them. To the side of Andy’s autographed poster to me, is a magic poster featuring Jinger & Kalin, a delightful husband and wife team.

So much for the quick tour around my office… maybe in time to come I’ll open a contemporary art gallery café here. Seriously, Singapore should have more of such urban art gallery cafes. They are so popular overseas! 🙂 Anyways. Thanks for reading this latest entry of Ning’s magic blog. Here’s wishing you a fantastic week ahead!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

